Dancing for New Zealand!

Since I last wrote, I’ve become addicted to a style of dancing called Ceroc (mixture of modern jive with a bit of salsa and ballroom thrown in) since joining a beginner’s class run by the student association here at Otago Uni. This Saturday, I will be COMPETING in the South Island Ceroc Champs competition in the beginner’s section!!! Got dress, got shoes, got sparkly jewellery… got the moves? Hmmm, now there’s a question!!! I’ve only been learning for 6 weeks but  I thought why the hell not enter and make the most of this amazing opportunity?! The Champs run once every 2 years, and this is only the second one, plus it’s being held in Dunedin this year. I thought it would be a lot of fun, and something to remember my time here by as the whole event is being filmed, but I am soooo nervous now!

Apart from dancing I haven’t done anything exciting really because I have a trip planned to visit the Bay of Islands (beautiful part of NZ in the North of the North Island) in 2 weeks and will also be visiting some relatives in Perth, Australia, during the “study period” so I’m saving up all my spare cash for those trips and for my 2-month back-packing tour of South East Asia on my way home. It’s a common perception that Australia is close to New Zealand, but my flight to Perth will take about 16 hours! I’m hoping to visit the stromatolites in Shark Bay, see some native snakes and swim with the world’s largest fish, the whale shark, while I’m there 🙂

May is a busy month. I have my driving test to get a full license and will also celebrate my 28th birthday in New Zealand. How weird – I’d never have imagined it 18 months ago! Can’t believe there’s only 2 months of this exchange year left. I try not to think about it, it’s been the best year of my life without a doubt! I haven’t done half the things I’ve wanted to do, even though I’ve done so much! But it’s good to know I have a reason to come back!

Leave a Reply

