4 change-overs, 3 continents, 2 days, 1 year abroad

I started this post at the beginning of my outbound journey from London Heathrow airport, but internet access was £1 for only a mere 10 minutes there so I decided I’d finish posting at the next earliest opportunity. I’m now updating from an internet kiosk at Auckland airport (completely free I might add) in New Zealand, 2 days after setting off from Heathrow!

The journey itself was quite an experience – my first long haul flight! It seemed like a never-ending trip but I was never bored or uncomfortable. My intinerary was as follows:

  1. Glasgow > Heathrow
  2. Heathrow > Dubai
  3. Dubai > Bandar
  4. Bandar > Brisbane
  5. Brisbane >Auckland
  6. Auckland > Christchurch
  7. Christchurch > Dunedin

I’ve become quite accustomed to airport lounges! I like the atmosphere of airports, and people-watching from coffee shops. There’s so many people in the world going somewhere, it really amazes me to see it… to think only a generation ago opportunities such as this were simply not available.

For some reason I was convinced jet-lag was a myth, something that happened to other people, and something I would be immune to. After all, how difficult could it be, crossing time zones and adjusting your body clock? Having now experienced it for myself, I can say the answer is VERY difficult!

All of my bags, including my scuba diving equipment, have also arrived safely in New Zealand which was a relief. For certain sports, you transport equipment for free as long as it’s not above a certain weight. So if you’re a sportsperson and want to continue with your sport whilst studying abroad it’s definitely worth checking with the airline what they allow you to take.

For some reason I was convinced jet-lag was a myth, something that happened to other people, and something I would be immune to. After all, how difficult could it be, crossing time zones and adjusting your body clock? Having now experienced it for myself, I can say the answer is VERY difficult!

All of my bags, including my scuba diving equipment, arrived safely in New Zealand which was a relief. For certain sports, you transport equipment for free as long as it’s not above a certain weight. So if you’re a sportsperson and want to continue with your sport whilst studying abroad it’s definitely worth checking with the airline what they allow you to take.

Also worth mentioning – remember and book in-flight meals in advance if you have any specific dietary requirements! If I hadn’t requested vegetarian meals I would have gone very hungry indeed!

The flight, though long, was a comfortable one. I had a window seat and was sitting next to a lovely and tiny little man from Brunei who was travelling back home from London. For the last leg of the journey the flight was pretty empty and I was able to move to a set of 3 unoccupied seats, lift the hand-rests and have a lie down. Some memorable moments include experiencing Dubai airport with no shortage of gold-encrusted decor and indoor palm trees (luckily I wasn’t there for long enough to spend money as I believe it is very expensive), and flying over Brunei looking out over buildings with that characteristic Asian roof with sweeping upturned curvature at the corners.

Leave a Reply

